Board and Voting Member Nominations for 2023

November 15, 2022
New York-New Jersey Trail Conference


Board and Voting Member Nominations for 2023
Trail Conference Headquarters at Darlington Schoolhouse. Photo by Jeremy Apgar.


The Nominating Committee of the Trail Conference presents the following candidates for the Board of Directors for three-year terms and At-Large Voting Members for one-year terms. These nominations will be voted on at the Annual Meeting to be held on Saturday, Nov. 19, via a virtual Zoom call from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m. If you have agenda items to suggest, please email them to [email protected]. Voting members should register here.

At the upcoming meeting, the Nominating Committee of the Trail Conference recommends the following three individuals as Directors with three-year terms starting Jan. 1, 2023, such nomination to be ratified by voting members at the Trail Conference Annual Meeting on Saturday, Nov. 19, 2022.

  • Juan Melli is Managing Director at the global public strategy firm Mercury specializing in government relations and strategic communications. A first-generation immigrant from Argentina, he is an active hiker, backpacker, and photographer. Juan has been a Trail Conference volunteer maintainer of the Appalachian Trail in Worthington State Forest and serves on the board of Team Wilderness, a non-profit that empowers urban youth through wilderness experiences. He graduated from Rutgers University and earned a Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Princeton University. Juan lives in Hoboken with his wife and two boys.
  • Emily Hague is the Assistant Director of Land Conservation at Scenic Hudson.  Experienced land conservation professional focused on protecting lands for all to access, working lands, and resilient landscapes. Strong background in Natural Resources Inventory, Natural Resource Management, Water Resource Management, Land Use, Nonprofit Governance, and Volunteer Management.   Previously director of land conservation and stewardship at Mohonk Preserve and Stewardship Director at Monadnock Conservancy.  Board member and chair of the Jolly Rovers.  2001 graduate of Oberlin College with degree in environmental science and 2005 MS from Antioch University in resource management.
  • Michael Pashley is a Cambridge University, UK physics PhD and retired corporate researcher with a long career at Philips in North America as a senior research investigator and a department head in their North American research lab.  He is an active hiker throughout the UK, US, the Alps, Canadian Rockies, and New Zealand.  He is a Trail Conference volunteer sawyer, AT corridor monitor, assistant AT supervisor, co-lead of the Westchester Trail Tramps Crew, and East Hudson RTC chair.  Recently he utilized his IT/software skills to develop the new online hours reporting system which the Trail Conference is now rolling out.

The Nominating Committee also recommends the re-nomination of one individual for a three-year term starting on January 1, 2023, such nomination is to be ratified by voting members at the Trail Conference Annual Meeting on Saturday, November 19, 2022. 

Director: David Felsenthal has been a member of the Trail Conference and an active hiker in the greater New York area for over 30 years. A graduate of Princeton and Harvard Law School, David is an attorney and a partner at Clifford Chance, a global law firm. Before moving to New York, David lived in Taiwan and Switzerland, where he hiked extensively. 

The Nominating Committee recommends 17 individuals for the nomination of one-year terms starting January 1, 2023, serving as Delegates-at-Large for the Trail Conference:

  • Anne Powley
  • Dan Chazin
  • Dave Stuhr
  • Deborah Padula-Genna
  • Doug Sohn6.Eddie Saiff
  • Jane Daniels
  • Kevin Bukowski
  • Lydia Zakim
  • Matt Decker
  • Ned Whitney
  • Patsy Wooters
  • Peter Reiner
  • Robert Lehmann
  • Ron Rosen
  • Suse Bell
  • William Gannett